Before You Delete Products
Due to API limitations there are some best practices to consider when deleting products.
- Delete products manually from Magento Admin
- Archive, Disable, or set to Non-Current your Products in POS
- Uncheck web, or remove your web tag from Products in POS
Unintended Consequences May Occur
- Deleting products directly from your Magento Database.
- Deleting products in POS.
- Merging products in POS.
The Archived/Non-Current Product Action controls what happens when a product is archived or has the webstore tag removed. This setting is set to ignore by default. Please set to Delete if you prefer to have products removed.
There are three approved methods for deleting products via integration.
When the Archived/Non-Current Product Action is set to Delete you can delete any product from Magento by removing it's web tag in POS, or unchecking “Sell on WebStore” on the Product card in Lightspeed Onsite. The product will be deleted from Magento during the next sync. Depending on your data volume, the time may vary.
You can delete products from Magento in bulk by using the same process as Bulk Update but by unchecking “Web” while updating products. This will delete the products from Magento during the next sync.
For Lightspeed Retail use Data Tools.
The Delete Tool
The Delete Tool can be found in Magento Settings after logging into your integration account. This tool should only be used in special circumstances when a single or matrix product has uploaded to Magento incorrectly.
When entering a SKU in the Delete Tool, the SKU and any associated Child Products will be deleted from Magento then automatically re-uploaded on the next sync.
Important: It is critical that no other delete method be combined with the Delete Tool. It will cause errors in Magento that may stop the integration from functioning.
Article is closed for comments.